Check Out Issue 33 of Sanitarium Magazine

sanitarium

I am proud to say I finally have a story in this beautiful magazine. It’s been a slow year, as I’m working on my first full-length novel. While I’m learning a lot, it has been frustrating. Seeing my story in here reminds me that sometimes there’s a payoff beyond the frustration.

I almost quit on my story, “Coker,” which you’ll find somewhere midway through this sanitarium full of head cases, locked in a padded room and trying to struggle out of a straitjacket. I hated it through multiple drafts. And when it was done, I only sort of liked it. I saw that it worked, but I wasn’t particularly thrilled with it. Since then it has been published twice: first in Hellfire Crossroads Vol.3, and now in Sanitarium Magazine #33. I’ve hated every story I’ve had published so far, at some point during the writing. If I had given up on them, I’d still be pining for that first publication to give me a sense of validation. The most important lesson I’ve learned in the last year and a half is to finish everything. Trust that you started it for a reason, even if you lose sight of that reason along the way.

In “Coker,” a not so common question is answered: What happens when a man is so obsessed with his job that he is willing to kill to get to work on time?

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Check Out Issue 33 of Sanitarium Magazine

  1. Stretch says:

    I don’t know who you wrote this for but you helped a brhoetr out.

Leave a Reply

